Between Land & Sea

This stunning new documentary by Ross Whitaker (Saviours, Unbreakable) spends a year in Lahinch, a small town on Ireland’s west coast, and the unlikely home of one of Europe’s best big-wave breaks.

buy tickets

This observational feature – at times intimate, at times epic – embeds itself within Lahinch’s surfing community to present a thoroughly engaging and visually stunning portrait of the ever-changing life at land’s end.

Against the backdrop of Ireland’s stunning west coast, this film digs deep into the day-to-day lives of the people who live and surf here, taking the audience beyond the bluster of the typical adrenaline-fueled surf film to create an intimate portrait of the diehard group of surfers who want their local wave to be known around the world.

Featuring Ollie O’Flaherty, the current poster-boy of Irish surfing, former pro Fergal Smith, Aussie surf journalist Ben Mondy and a thrilling visit to Lahinch by Hawaiian legend Shane Dorian, Between Land and Sea provides the most exhilarating of big-wave surf footage while also giving a moving, humourous and thought-provoking account of the ocean-going natives of County Clare.

This entry was posted in Screenings. Bookmark the permalink.
Director Ross Whitaker
Release Date This Summer @ PigFlix
Running Time 87 min
Language English



Friday 23rd Feb 2018 8:30pm
Saturday 24th Feb 2018 6:45pm
Saturday 3rd Mar 2018 6:40pm
Sunday 18th Mar 2018 6:40pm
Saturday 24th Mar 2018 6:40pm
Sunday 11th Mar 2018 6:40pm
Wednesday 21st Mar 2018 8:30pm


Friday 23rd Mar

Call Me by Your Name1:40pm
The Shape of Water4:10pm
Game Night8:30pm

Saturday 24th Mar

Sweet Country - Final4:20pm
Between Land & Sea6:40pm
Game Night8:30pm

Tuesday 27th Mar

Game Night2:00pm
Closed: Private Function4:00pm

Wednesday 28th Mar

Game Night12:00pm
Closed: Private Function4:00pm